#

Rock-It Academy

Thanks to a US Department of Education grant Neil Armstrong is able to offer students & families an all-day summer program and a before- and after-school care program for students.

IA_CCLC_logo.png

This program is funded by a U.S. Department of Education 21st Century Community Learning Center Grant
Learn more | 2014-2015 Evaluation |2015-2016 Evaluation

Rock-It Academy Staff List

Jennifer Watkins

Program Co-Director
jwatkins@bettendorf.k12.ia.us
(563) 359-8275

Amber Otero

Program Co-Director
aotero@bettendorf.k12.ia.us
(563) 359-8275

Becca Degeorge

Tutor
bdegeorge@bettendorf.k12.ia.us

Colleen Gould

Tutor
cgould@bettendorf.k12.ia.us

Ann Black

Youth Mentor
ablack@bettendorf.k12.ia.us

Paula Edwards

Mentor
pedwards@bettendorf.k12.ia.us

Melissa Hawthorn

Youth Mentor
mhawthorn@bettendorf.k12.ia.us

Deb Silverberg

Youth Mentor
dsilverberg@bettendorf.k12.ia.us

Sharon Stepheny

Youth Mentor
sstepheny@bettendorf.k12.ia.us

Stacey Tyler

Youth Mentor
styler@bettendorf.k12.ia.us

NA after school group

School Year Program

Rock-It Academy operates for one hour immediately before school (7 - 8 a.m.) and from after school (3:20 - 5:30 p.m.) five days a week during the entire school year.

The district dismisses students two hours early (1:10 p.m.) on Wednesdays once or twice monthly to allow for staff professional development and the program will operate during that time, too.

Summer Program

The summer program provides academics at the school for 30 days, Monday through Friday from 8:30-11:45 a.m. (8 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. for summer breakfast and lunch program too). In the afternoons, NAE will facilitate children’s participation in the established program offered by the Bettendorf Parks and Recreation Department. Partners in this proposal have collaborated to plan substantial educational enrichment for the children.


Neil Armstrong Receives $377K Grant for
Summer & Before/After School Program

In 2014 Neil Armstrong received a three-year allowing the addition of an all-day summer program and a before- and after-school care program. The 21st Century Community Learning Center Grant awards federal funds through states for starting model after-school programs in conjunction with community partners.

Neil Armstrong Elementary School’s program provides a 30 day, all day, summer program for up to 60 students. The program includes a free breakfast, summer school focusing on math and reading, and lunch at the school. In the afternoon the children will participate in a Bettendorf Parks and Recreations program in the school’s neighborhood park.

During the school year, Neil Armstrong is providing a 36 weeks of before-school care from 7-8 a.m., and after-school care from 3:20-5:30 p.m. for up to 75 children. Partnerships with the Bettendorf Police Department, Bettendorf Fire Department, Eastern Iowa Community College, & Hy-Vee will allow additional learning opportunities for students as well as quarterly field trips. Parents will also have an opportunity to benefit through quarterly family nights as well as educational opportunities with Eastern Iowa Community College.

A total of nine grants were awarded in the state of Iowa. Neil Armstrong Elementary receives $125,666.67 each year for three years.